Living Beyond Yourself

The bible study Living Beyond Yourself by Beth Moore has been really wonderful. I just finished the chapters that talk about pleasing God vs pleasing man and “Crucified”.

God has been really working on my heart about these issues. I didn’t realize that I was being so influenced by others in my life to the point where I was feeling anxiety. I have to admit I have a large dollop of the “people pleaser” gene in my personality. At the end of the chapter I was asked how I thought God wanted me to respond to the study and I have to admit what came to mind was to have the courage to focus on ministry vs being focused on the business of acting. I don’t think I’m to ignore the necessary, but rather, not to be consumed by it. As many of you know I enjoy  making youtube videos. It’s a great outlet for my creativity which I don’t otherwise get. But I’ve been always conflicted because a friend who is an actor living in NY told me that actors would not be taken seriously on youtube. And it’s been KILLING me inside because I want to be taken seriously…because I am serious about my craft. And on top of that a professor in college told my acting class that most to none of us would not make it big. So of course I had to prove him wrong which has led me to obsessing over…proving him wrong. That was almost 10 years ago…and I haven’t “made it”. I can’t believe I’m blogging about my inner most “stuff” but I want to make a point:

Make sure that the Word of God has more weight to you than what people say because it could stifle the joy out of you if don’t.

I hope I wrapped up my 10 year lesson easily enough for you.

The chapter “Crucified” was monumental as well. Mostly because at the end Beth asked us to compare the scriptures of when Jesus spoke His last words: “Father why have thou forsaken me?” and  when Jesus says “I will never leave you or forsake you.”  I realized that Jesus had to feel the pain and suffer through the separation of His father so He would know what it could be like for you and me. And Jesus doesn’t want that. He loves us too much to ever want us to experience that. I see now that the pain and suffering we go through is part of the journey of building the ministry that we might have so we can be in it for the long haul. Like Jesus is in it for us through this life and death journey.

If you are suffering through something now understand that it is part of the journey and plan that God has for you. It is an integral part of your success in what God wants you to do. This study changed my attitude about where He has placed me at this current time. If you have gone through this study before I would love to hear how it has changed your life.

I hope you all have a blessed Holy Week.

Leave a Reply

