Being Coached

About 6 months ago I met a lady online who was leading a bible study called  Living Beyond Yourself by Beth Moore. At that time I was searching for a way to connect with other Christians who were involved with filmmaking, acting and the like. I ended up emailing Kathy and found out that the study was for those living in the Los Angeles area but I could join them by studying on my own here in Indiana. If you have read some of my other posts you’ll see that this study has been life changing!

Kathy is a Talent Manager and Coach at Crossroads Talent Management and I ended up having my first session with her a few days ago. It was a real blessing! We spoke about priorities and how to nurture those priorities. She suggested that I look into the Bible Study Fellowship for more Christian networks. We also talked about identifying my core passion and making sure that I did things that supported that. If you know me or have read my blogs you can guess what my passions are concerning visual art. But to actually say things out loud made me realize that I am able to accomplish much of what I want right here where I am. I’ve been doing projects in the hopes of moving to L.A. one day or being able to go out on an audition somewhere other than Indiana. But thanks to modern technology I can do many things right here. It’s really interesting where life takes you as you grow. I always thought God had me here for a reason instead of allowing me to jaunt off to L.A. right after college (being naive as I was). Now ten years later I have a family and a husband who supports me and a much stronger faith in God than before.

Dreams are a funny thing when you are young. You expect things to happen the way that you want them to happen. But God allows them to happen in the way that allows you to grow in Him. The definition of success has changed for me over the years. I don’t think I’ve reached the final definition for my life but learning to be content and enjoy my daily life has definitely come into the equation. I still want to make a positive impact on the world and do things no one else has done before, don’t get me wrong. But when I reach the top I want to be able to look back and say that I enjoyed the journey as well.

Leave a Reply

