God’s goodness

Goodness is mentioned as part of the fruit of the spirit in Galations 5:22. The greek word for goodness is agathosune. This means benevolent and active goodness. Coupled with kindness, also part of the fruit of the spirit this brings about energized actions that are good and kind. According to Ephesians 2:1-10 we were saved to do good works that God has prepared beforehand!  That blows my mind that before we were born God already prepared good works for us to do!

Let’s look at a parable that Jesus uses in Matthew 25:14-30 about the 3 servants. It starts with a master leaving on a trip and giving each of his three servants talents according to their ability. He gives the first one 5 talents, the second one 3 talents, and the third one 1 talent. The first and second servants invest their talents and are able to bring about a 200% return. The third servant takes his 1 talent and buries it in a hole. When the master returns the first two show him their profit. The master says “Well done good and faithful servants. Enter in to to my joy.” (paraphrased). The third servant was scolded. For he told the master that he knew that he reaped where he did not sew and therefore he just buried his talent. This was not a worthy excuse in the master’s eyes. He took the one talent and gave it to the one with ten and then cast out the servant into the darkness. I want to couple this scripture with another one:

In 2 Timothy 1:14 it says that we are to guard that good thing that was committed to us by the Holy Spirit that dwells in us.

I’m going to be very honest with you today. Lately I’ve been struggling with being brave with the ministry that God has given me. I have a lot of inspiration but sometimes not a lot of courage. But every day that I let slide by I’m letting satan gain a foothole which could cause me to put my little talent into the ground until I’m called home. But I want to herar those words “Well done good and faithful servant”! We are to guard that good thing that was committed to us by the Holy Spirit that dwells in us. I took that to mean to remember the full armor of God mentioned in Ephesians 6 as well as to remember God’s Word’s of encouragement to us. That He will never leave us or forsake us and that He has a plan to help us not to harm us, to give us hope and a future!

Do you feel like there is a great purpose for your life? Well there is because God created a purpose for you before you were even born. Don’t let that gift be buried by discouragement or worry. It’s yours to use for God’s glory! Guard it my brother and sister by the Holy Spirit that dwells in you! I think that by continuing to share what I learn through bible study it helps to encourage me to press forward in my ministry. I hope that you were encouraged today.

 

God Bless

One thought on “God’s goodness

Leave a Reply

