Humble Pie

HUMILITY.

While growing up I wasn’t really sure what this word meant. I thought that it meant not talking about yourself or bragging about your accomplishments. I felt uncomfortable around a lot of people growing up so this was fine with me. But what I thought I was doing by being quiet and “humble” wasn’t the real deal. It was false humility, or just the “act” of being humble while inside I was prideful. Mostly for me it was being prideful towards God and my parents. I wasn’t one to brag about stuff but I was one to not be ready to receive correction very easily. I would get offended or think the person didn’t care for me when just the opposite was the case. They cared ENOUGH to offer correction.

I noticed as we grow older and move away from being a child having adults correct us-God’s voice becomes what we need to listen very hard for to receive the correction we need. He corrects us because HE CARES FOR US. The foundation of Humility is submission. Submission to God. The bible says that every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. The question is do you want to be forced onto your knee or will you humble yourself to your knees? Many of us have been humbled by the Lord through life circumstances crashing down on us forcing us to get on our faces and cry out to our Abba Father and it’s a tough experience to go through. However when you come out on the other side you are stronger, able to persevere longer, have more faith and know God better. Its really for our good that we obey God in this command of humility.

In my study Living Beyond Yourself, we looked at several verses that tell the result of humility. I will just list the verses:

2 Chronicles 7:14

The Result: You will hear from heaven, God will forgive, God will heal

2 Chronicles 34:27

The Result: God will hear you

Ezera 8:21-23

The Result: Avoidance of God’s wrath

Proverbs 6:3

The Result: deliverance

James 4:10

The Result: He will lift you up

1 Peter 5:6

The Result: He will exalt you in due time.

The results sound pretty profound don’t you think? Let us follow John the Baptist’s example when he says in

John 3:30

He must increase but I must decrease. When we do this and GET OUTTA THE WAY we get to see our awesome God work! He is more than we can imagine…so much more. Please take the time to review these scriptures on you own.

Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

