Playing Dress-up

Do you ever notice how little kids don’t care what other people think? My daughter loves to play dress up. In fact she will put together several outfits throughout the day and change as the mood hits her. I can tell she feels very “princessy” in the most elaborate of her dress up clothes. Sometimes she will put her bathing suit on with a cropped jacket and jeans, or a church dress with her favorite polka dotted leggings…that I had to cut into shorts due to an annoying hole in the knee. Children aren’t worried about what other people think of them. In fact the only person my daughter cares to ask how something looks is me, her mother. I’m always careful when I answer her. Although I wouldn’t let her go to certain events in her outfits I do try to encourage her creativity and style because I’m proud of her and want to nurture that boldness to be herself.

What happens as we grow up? We come up against disappointment, disapproval, obstacles or ridicule for the things we do or love that are unique. It takes courage to continue to follow our dreams or live unconventional lives. Even if you must work a 9-5 job it takes extra time and energy to pursue your passions outside of your job. Whether it’s family, scrap booking, or pottery these are special and unique things that  God has gifted humanity with. As we pursue our passions during our lifetime the only person we should be trying to please is God our Father. As a parent it gives me joy to see my children grow and use their gifts and develop their interests. I believe that God would feel the same way as we use our gifts for His glory. The bible talks about not putting your lamp under a bowl or hiding your talent in the ground like the lazy servant but instead to shine your light and invest in what God has given you.

Today I want to encourage you to pray and ask God how you can better use your gifts and talents. I know it will not only bless you but someone else as well.

The parable of the talents

The parable of the lamp

God Bless.

Leave a Reply

