Love One Another

Good morning! Before I get into the blog post for today. I have to apologize for the title of my last blog post. My husband brought it to my attention that it may have brought some unintentional “shock value” to my readers. “I had sex” was the title of the video so I made it the title of the blog. I realized that it may have been a little unwelcome to your inbox so I changed the title to something along the lines of “a helpful video to help you start a conversation with your teens about sex”. So please forgive me for that…

Okay…Let’s get started!

John 13:34-35

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

Jesus said this moments after he knew the hour had come for His betrayal and death. And so he got up, removed his outer clothing, wrapped a towel around His waist, got a basin of water and proceeded to wash the feet of His own disciples. Let me rephrase this:

God in the form of man (John 1:1) came to this earth from His glorious, unimaginable, celestial palace to a world that had sinned, rebelled and rejected Him to show us His unconditional love by washing us clean through the perfect sacrifice of His very essence (in Christ His Son) as payment for our sin.

Then He goes on to say:

“Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.

Jesus clearly lays out how we may give Him glory through our actions as believers towards each other. We can preach and teach the gospel all we want but if we are known for hateful, vengeful, unloving behavior to our brothers and sisters those watching will not be able to receive what you are sharing.

There are obvious challenges to loving one another:

  • offense
  • personality differences
  • opinions
  • personal preferences
  • misunderstandings
  • just not knowing each other well enough

And the list could go on and on right? But notice that He teaches us this lesson right before He goes to willingly give up His life for atonement for our sins? His act of forgiveness is the ultimate act of love. He even went through with it even after one of His own disciples (Judas) left to betray Him that night!

He loved His own who were in the world until the end (John 13:1).

So with this example in mind let us having a forgiving heart so that we may continue to demonstrate God’s love toward one another.

I found it interesting that the author takes note that after He had finished washing the disciples feet He put His clothes on and returned to His place. After Christ had finished His work on the cross He rose from the grave was clothed in His Glory and ascended back to His throne in Heaven!

The humility of our Savior is evident that through His magnificant power, position and standing he made Himself low for us. But we cannot forget that because of who He is, the Perfect Lamb of God, we are now made children of God. No one else could have done that for us.

Today ask God to help you forgive your brothers and sisters from any offense so that you can show them love like Jesus commanded us to.

Leave a Reply

