A Strange Birthday Gift

Saturday was my birthday. It was a really wonderful day. Most of all because I didn’t die.

Yes. That’s what I said..er…wrote. My husband and I were having a really relaxing day. We had brunch and then went to to mall to shop for a birthday gift. We were driving out of the parking lot and chatting away happily when I heard squealing tires and saw an SUV skidding towards us really fast. My husband thankfully used his quick reflexes to drive off the road and up an embankment into another parking lot. In turns out the SUV’s tire had fallen off and the driver lost control of the car. Thank God no one was hurt or worse!

It took me about an hour to fully realize what could have happened.

All of a sudden those statements you hear so often from people about near death experiences about living life to the fullest or realizing your life could end at any moment became real. My birthday could have gone bad. But thanks be to God that it didn’t. I had a wonderful and relaxing day (other than the car incident). I feel like I got a wonderful birthday present in this situation. A reminder that His hand is on me and that His protection is real. Nothing can happen out of His will. I’m grateful to be able to write this post to you today.

Remember to thank God for everyday that He gives you.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do that by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

-Mark Twain

2 thoughts on “A Strange Birthday Gift

Leave a Reply

