Good Friday: Be still and reflect

Take a moment. Sit still and reflect on this Good Friday.

For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.

Psalm 30:5

Here King David speaks about coming out of a very bad storm in his life. He pens: I will exalt you, LORD,  for you lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me. LORD my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me. You, LORD, brought me up from the realm of the dead; you spared me from going down to the pit.

I believe that this scripture is so appropriate today as we remember what our Savior did on the cross so long ago for us. Today is Good Friday where we remember what Jesus went through for us on Calvalry. God poured out His wrath on His only perfect Son so our sins could be atoned. But it was only for a moment in the grand scheme of things. For now we have God’s eternal favor as His children washed clean by Jesus’s blood. We know how the story ends. Weeping and darkness were not the end, but a risen savior who conquered death for us. So although we remember the dark night we rejoice in the morning light of a risen Christ!

Take time to thank God for what He has done in your life. If you are someone who knows that you are imperfect and have done wrong but wonder how you can make things right. Pray and ask God to open your heart to believe that Jesus did this for you. That He died so that you won’t have to and rose again victorious over the penalty that was meant for us. I will be praying with you. I know at first glance it can seem weird, or too easy. But God set it up that way so that it takes the faith of a child to simply believe. Your life will not be the same if you do.

God Bless

Leave a Reply

