Daddy’s Shoulder

This past weekend I had the great opportunity to spend some quality time with my parents, siblings, and extended family in Ohio to attend my cousin’s wedding. During the last day together we spent time working over things that adult children must work out with parents like finances, assets, etc. It was definitely an educating time to learn about investing, funds, stocks, and financial planning. Over the course of the conversation I noticed I was getting very emotional. I thought it was simply the normal worry that occurs during these conversations but I realized later that it was bringing me back to my own feelings concerning my own household and our challenges of late because of the hubby having health challenges these past few months. I found myself in the bathroom crying my eyes out…because…sometimes I need to do that. But my emotions betrayed me once I came out and saw my father. When he gave me a hug I couldn’t hold back my tears any longer. I had to put my head on my father’s shoulder and cry…I hadn’t done that in…I can’t even remember. But it felt so good. My father has always taken care of his children even when things were hard. I always know that my dad will provide. I know that this is a rare blessing in this day and age of absent fathers and I am grateful. It made me think about my relationship with God. How He refers to Himself as our Father through Jesus Christ. As I hear people discuss God and who they think He is and refuse to believe in Jesus I feel sad for them. Only because being a Christian isn’t about being better than anyone else. It’s really about saying I need a Saviour and I need a “Father”. I know that through these struggles God is asking me to go to a more intimate place with Him. It has not been easy to open my heart and tear down the walls surrounding my heart to protect it.

Galatians 4:6-7
And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father. Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.

Abba in the Greek means Father. Some believe that in the Aramaic Jesus was referring to God as daddy or papa. When a child is young, daddy is a word that infers love, trust, expectancy to provide protection, love, and provision. It is a word close to the child’s heart. When a child is  hurt  they want mommy or daddy to take care of them. In the same way we are now made sons of God through Christ and we can call God “daddy” and ask Him into a more intimate place in our hearts.  In fact we are already in that place of a beloved child in His heart.  He did not leave us orphaned and died for us while we were yet sinners (Romans 5:8). He is a Father above earthly fathers, for He is completely faithful, always does what is best for us, will never leave us, and no enemy can stand before Him.

Maybe your earthly father is not there. He left or has passed. Know you have a heavenly Father who gave His son to bring you into such a relationship for you to call Him Papa. You can cry on His shoulder in times of sorrow, confusion, or exhaustion and lift your head filled with hope and peace. He sees your tears  (2 Kings 20:5, Psalm 56:8) and longs to comfort you.

May God Bless you this day.

Leave a Reply

