Talking with God

Quiet time with God is very important to me. It’s what I need to center myself and focus on what is important. To thank God for all that He has done. To praise Him for who He is, cast my cares on Him, and make my requests be known to Him. When I neglect my time with God I feel really…lost. Like a hamster on a wheel, going about life with no sense of satisfaction or forward movement. I think it’s amazing that with all of our technological advances and new ways to communicate, prayer has always and will always be the way we must communicate with God. There’s no way to hide how we feel behind words of a text, or hide our face behind the phone, or only share part of ourselves like we do with twitter, facebook, instagram, pinterest, youtube, blogging, foursquare, linkedin, blip, and so much more social media! With God THERE IS NO HIDING.

God knows the crevices of our heart. The good and the bad, the dark and the light. It sounds scary to know that someone knows our every thought. But isn’t is liberating to know that as well? We don’t have to spend time “filling God in on the details” or explaining our side of things. No we just need to get to it and communicate with Him. I was recently upset over a situation and I was sharing that with my father. I didn’t realize at the time but I was giving excuses for the other party while explaining my feelings on the matter. He stopped me and said,

“Dija, if you are upset, tell God you are upset. Don’t make excuses. Don’t be afraid to tell Him what you are feeling.”

I was like “OH YEAH! I can do that. He wants me to do that.”

Before I leave you with  a quote from one of the coolest guys ever.  Let me remind you that communication is a two way street. It’s comprised of speaking AND LISTENING, giving and RECEIVING. Have moments of silence and meditation as well during prayer. Don’t get caught up in the stupid myth that there is a certain way to pray. That’s satan trying to come between you and God. Pray, pray, pray even if it’s not as eloquent as someone else. You will find what works. Sometimes I have to go out in nature and just take a walk and talk to God like I’d talk to my BFF. 🙂

Here’s the quote:

“There are times when solitude is better than society, and silence is wiser than speech. We should be better Christians if we were more alone, waiting upon God, and gathering through meditation on His Word spiritual strength for labour in his service. We ought to muse upon the things of God, because we thus get the real nutriment out of them. . . . Why is it that some Christians, although they hear many sermons, make but slow advances in the divine life? Because they neglect their closets, and do not thoughtfully meditate on God’s Word. They love the wheat, but they do not grind it; they would have the corn, but they will not go forth into the fields to gather it; the fruit hangs upon the tree, but they will not pluck it; the water flows at their feet, but they will not stoop to drink it. From such folly deliver us, O Lord. . . .”
-Charles Spurgeon
 So go out gather strength, peace, joy, love, answers, insights, connection, growth, etc from our Wonderful Father through prayer today.
God Bless
Leave a Reply

